Please feel free to browse our website to obtain information about our retirement plan. If there is any item you would like more information on, please feel free to click on the "Contact Us" tab and send us an email.

Taunton is one of 104 public employee contributory retirement systems in Massachusetts. The retirement plan serves over 1,278city employees (excluding teachers) and over 947 retirees & survivors and is managed by a local retirement board consisting of five trustees.

The Taunton Retirement Board is responsible for maintaining approx. $393 million is pension assets for the City of Taunton's retirement system in compliance with Mass. General Laws Chapter 32. The Board's mission is to provide retirement benefits to plan participants and to safeguard the assets of the system. The retirement board is charged with the responsibility of prudently investing the pension assets to maximize the investment returns with the goal of becoming a fully funded system. The plan is a public employee contributory defined benefit plan first established in 1937.

Next Direct Deposit

February 2024

Next Board Meeting

February 2024

Benefit Calculator

Online Pension Calculator
Calculate Your Estimated Pension Benefits
January 24, 2024

Open Enrollment for City of Taunton retirees/survivors will start on Monday, February 26, 2024 at 8 a.m. and end on Tuesday, March 26, 2024 at 7 p.m.  Any changes done during Open Enrollment will be effective July 1, 2024.  There will be two informational meetings for Open Enrollment on Tuesday, March 12, 2024 (in person at City Hall) and Tuesday, March 19, 2024 (Zoom).  Times for these meetings will be updated shortly.