Taunton Retirement Board welcomes Dennis M. Smith as the new elected member of the board

Dennis M. Smith recently won election to the Taunton Retirement Board at an election held on November 6, 2014 to fill the seat vacated by longtime board member Richard T. Avila. Smith outdistanced fellow challenger firefighter Tom Bernier by a vote of 574 to 389. Smith is a 35-year veteran of the Taunton Police Dept. and a life-long resident of the city. This was Smith’s third run for the board and the third time was the charm.  Smith said “I want to thank all those who voted for me and for the strong show of support. I pledge to work diligently on behalf of all active employees and retirees of the system to protect and preserve their hard-earned benefits.”